Places to go in Australia: QLD East Coast

University has started and things are getting busy again, but that won’t stop me from telling you about my last trip of my Australian summer holiday.  One of the great advantages of studying in Brisbane is that you are not too far away from the Great Barrier Reef and if you have 3 friends flown in from Europe and rent a car (such as I did) it isn’t even that expensive to go see it.

We did a pretty standard East Coast Trip, starting from Brisbane and driving all the way up to the Whitsunday Islands, stopping by at various places on the way. The pictures you will see will do the places more justice than my mediocre writing, so just have a look:

SUNSHINE COAST

DSC_6727

 

BUNDABERG

1770/AGNES WATER

DSC_6814

Good for views and surfing

GREAT KEPPEL ISAND

DSC_7024

DSC_6989

WHITSUNDAY ISLANDS

IMG_1375IMG_1422

IMG_1437

Best beach and clearest water I’ve even seen in my life

CAPE HILLSBOROUGH

DSC_7135

Kangaroos on the beach (but you’ll have to get up early for this one)

FRASER ISLAND

So, if you can’t tell from the pictures – this is definitely something you should do whilst you are in Australia. In fact, I’d go as far as to say this is the one thing you should do above anything else.

Sadly, that was the last trip of my summer holiday and my next blog is most likely going to be university related again. I’ve had a great summer holiday and seen loads of places including New Zealand, Tasmania, Melbourne, the Great Ocean Road, Bali, the Gili Islands and the Great Barrier Reef.

Now, however, the Australian university system with ongoing assessments awaits me so I’m going to get back to work. As always, get in touch with me if you have any questions about coming to UQ next year!

Leave a Reply

