Festival on Ice – Igloofest

Hey there,

With the shadow of midterms looming over me, I decided to partake in some productive procrastination and share with you one of the many gems that this beautiful city has to offer. Let’s take our gaze off the Hockey, skating and other snowsports. Instead, let’s look at part of it’s world famous music scene

When people think of music festivals, images of sunny weather, people in shorts and large camping-grounds come to mind (okay, you got me T in the park). However, Montreal decides to take this typical music festival cliché and turn it on it’s head. For over a decade now the city has been home to the internationally renowned Igloofest, one of the few winter music festivals in the world.

568d989c37559


Being a big fan of festivals myself I just had to check it out for myself, and I have to say, it didn’t disappoint. The event takes place over 6 weekends, running from January through February. Even better, this year the last two weekends were completely free! Tickets cost between 20$ and 35$ per night but are well worth it. Not only are there world famous DJs on the decks, but there is also a full array of free activities inside too. From arm wrestling to marshmallow grilling, you can get it all for nothing. Student paradise!

Check it out yourself here!

In the past I had been to summer festivals where people would walk around in shorts and T-shirt but partying in -20*C means that, if you want to keep all your finger and toes, you better suit up! I hit up the local thrift shop before heading over to grab myself the warmest and worst looking gear I could find, and to my surprise, fit in perfectly. The entire theme of the festival is retro snow gear and crazy onesies so you know you’re in for a good time 😉

If you’re worried by the cold there are plenty of solutions. VIP tickets give access to the private (heated) lounges, there are infrared lights scattered around and even a few cooking fires. I thought the temperature might be an issue, but with the large crowds and so many options I barely even noticed it.


For those looking for a more fancy experience, the festivals also offers off-site concerts on the top of buildings or in some of the greatest clubs in town. I personally find it all quite impressive, having grown up in a small mountain village.

Anyhow, that’s all for now! If you have any questions or queries about Montreal and exchange in general, feel free to drop me an e-mail at 2149193k@student.gla.ac.uk

Il fait frette,
Matt

Leave a Reply

