Surviving Exam Season in a Foreign Country

Hey guys,

Hope everyone had a great holiday! I’ve just finished my exams for the first semester and it was not fun. I found it exponentially harder than University exams I’ve had before, because, as well as being in my third year and having harder courses and exams, I’m still adapting to living in a new country and being surrounded with new faces from all over the world. Therefore, I thought I’d share my experience.

Exam Format

At Copenhagen Business School and many other Universities, other exam formats are a lot more popular than the classic written down exam. I had 3 exams and all were done on a computer, which I found a bit distracting as they were all math-based exams and writing out long equations on word proved very stressful and time consuming!

A few of my friends had oral exams- my ignorant self thought those were reserved for language courses, but obviously not! This obviously requires a very different type of preparation than a regular exam and I’m lowkey so glad I didn’t have one. Public speaking is not my thing!

You’ll find out the exam format and the date of the exam right at the start of the semester at CBS which is good because that leaves plenty of time to prepare. Just know it wont be anything like your average 2 1/2 hour written exam in Bute Hall.

Time Management

As I’ve said before, study abroad leaves you surrounded by great friends from all over the world. The only downside is being very aware of the finite time you’ll all be together. So naturally, you’ll want to spend every waking moment with these people and forget about the exams. Unfortunately, this can’t be really be done.

To overcome this moral dilemma, I learnt to manage my time properly. This basically meant sacrificing some sleep in order to fit more studying in in the morning which freed up my evenings in order to see my friends! Although, these ‘evenings’ often went well into early morning which meant I somehow survived on 4-5 hours sleep a night for a good month. So it’s debatable whether I did “manage my time properly”!

Switch up the environment

We all know going to the same library every day to study gets very old very quick. Thankfully CBS has 3 libraries and a ridiculous amount of group rooms with a super easy online booking system. Even if you get bored of studying there’s the The Royal Library which is right on Københavns Havn, with beautiful views. Also, there’s the Studenthuset cafè right by Nørreport. It has eduroam and cheap coffee as well as quiet spaces upstairs. It’s perfect for a ‘relaxed’ study session.

1761610351_3238071d49_b

The Royal Library

Homesickness

The only bout of homesickness I experienced was right in the middle of exam season, when I became a bit of a hermit and spent a week straight alone in my flat revising all day, so it was bound to happen. For anyone is yet to experience homesickness, It manifests itself in weird ways. For example, mine took the form of watching 4 episodes of the Inbetweeners followed by the Gavin and Stacey Christmas Special at 3 am just because I needed to be surrounded by British accents again. I was totally fine the next day, sometimes you just need to do that!

As always, I am more than happy to answer any questions you may have

Email- 2121917p@student.gla.ac.uk

Facebook

Instagram

Leave a Reply

