Norwegian Nature – The Best Bits

Hello again!

Hopefully everyone who’s now away has settled in well, and the rest of you are well underway to researching your year abroad.

Now that I’m back to reality, today’s options were either to pore over a commercial law textbook, or to relive some of my favourite moments from studying abroad – no prizes for guessing which I chose.

So, without further ado, here were my top 5 favourite moments during my year –

  1. My first ever Norwegian hike

I’ve already rambled on an awful lot about how beautiful Norway is, and the accessibility to nature is second to none. You really couldn’t beat taking a trip up one of Bergen’s 7 main mountains on a sunny day, as the views from the top are absolutely breathtaking. My first hike was on Mount Ulriken, which at 643m above sea level is the highest of them all.

91110

  1. The snow-covered gingerbread city

Okay, so this one isn’t technically to do with nature, but a miniature scale model of Bergen, made entirely of gingerbread takes some beating.

  1. Seeing the world-famous fjords up close

In March I took a trip to Stegastein with a visiting friend, and viewed first-hand the Aurlandsfjord from above. Neither of us had seen anything like it before; it was easily the most stunning place I have ever visited, and we were so lucky to see it in good weather!

  1. Watching the Northern lights from the comfort of my own flat

I’m so annoyed that I didn’t manage to capture the lights on camera, but as soon as someone shouts that they can see them you just have to run! I was lucky enough to see the lights three times during my year – and to think that people spend thousands of £££ on excursions just to stand a chance of spotting them!

  1. A 5am ramble up Priekestolen

Despite what was easily one of the worst nights’ sleep I’ve ever had (picture: 5 students crammed into a single, damp tent in early April… the temperature is -3C) it was more than worth it to make it to Pulpit Rock before all the other tourists got there. We arrived at the summit at 8:30 and managed to see the last of the sun rise over the fjord. Despite it being slightly out the way, and a lot of organisation needed to plan the trip, it is something that I would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone studying in Norway, as it truly is a once-in-a-lifetime experience, not to be missed!

 

As always, if you’re considering studying in Bergen, Norway, or in Europe more generally, drop me a message at 2069152J@student.gla.ac.uk.

 

Good luck!

Selena x

Leave a Reply

