#halifornication and taking chances.

Hi guys!

So, I’m still getting used to using wordpress, so this might not be as fine-tuned as my future posts but it’s a start!

I have arrived!

I am 7 days away from being here in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada for a month now. And if I’m honest it feels a lot longer. I have crammed literally every second full of things to do since I’ve been here – with a lot more things on my wish list!

For those of you who don’t know, Halifax is the capital of the Canadian province of Nova Scotia. It is the largest city this side of Québec, and the largest city in Atlantic Canada (the region that constitutes the provinces of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Prince Edward Island.) The city has a population of just over 400,000. So it’s almost a similar size to Edinburgh, I’m sure y’all have been there.

The city is a wonderful blend of Metropolitan and Seaside Town. You can walk from high-rise buildings to the beach in about 8 minutes. The Atlantic ocean surrounds three sides of the city – with Downtown Halifax being located on a peninsula in the ocean.

It is beautiful.

The reason I have named this post #halifornication and taking chances is because:

  1. halifornication, noun – the process of naturalisation that occurs when an international moves to the fabulous city of Halifax.

    – I am still very much in the process of becoming a true Haligonian (someone who hails from Halifax) although, I must say I have tried almost all of the cuisine here, especially Lobster rolls – a provincial celebrity (I have tried a lot of those.)

  2. Halifax was not my first choice for study abroad.

When I applied to Study Abroad, I ignored the advice of the International Team to make sure you had 3 choices you really liked. I had my heart set on my first choice, which wasn’t in Canada, and never even thought of coming here. I vaguely liked the look of Halifax and so put it as a choice, never really giving a second thought to coming here.

When I received my offer of Halifax, I very nearly said no.

Crazy, right?

It was a mixture of disappointment and shock that I didn’t get my first choice and I could potentially be going to a Uni I had given very little thought about.

However, saying yes to Halifax in spite of not getting my first choice was the best decision I have made.

I am loving it here. I have only been here 3 weeks, but I don’t think I’ll want to leave come the end of the year/ever want to leave. (I still love you Glasgow, don’t worry!)

I am so happy that I took the chance and went for it. And I advise you all to do the same. By all means, have a favourite and put it as your first choice – it’s only natural! But bear in mind you may not get it, and please don’t let it put you off studying abroad like it nearly did for me! I can honestly guarantee you that wherever you go, you will have the time of your life. I say that with confidence and I have only been here three weeks!

Anyway guys, myself and the other international students are off for a walk down by the Waterfront. Life is hard.

I’ll keep you posted!

Alfie.

 

Leave a Reply

