A short visit home

Hello again! It’s been quite a busy month so say the least. I had a bit of free time before the exam season so I headed back to Belfast for a visit. It was particularly strange since, as i was travelling during Christmas, it was the longest I’d been away from home (7 months!). So I was pretty excited to get back and see everyone. Aside from getting loaded with masses of beautiful Irish cuisine and gaining 30 stone, I managed to catch up with my friends from back home, who wasted no time in giving me a verbal bashing for my constant Erasmus updates (knew that would happen).

One interesting thing I noticed straight away was that it hadn’t changed at all since I originally left in August. Whilst in the Netherlands I find it hard to believe how fast the time flies, life moves a little bit slower back home. It’s good in two ways as it’s perfect for a wind-down visit home, and it also reminded me that I’ve not a great deal of time left on Erasmus and want to see and do as much as possible in the time I’ve got left!

As the Netherlands has got me addicted to cycling, I took the bike at home out as soon as I could for a spin around the forest. Introducing Shaws Bridge, Belfast (A.K.A. The Shire): 

12042740_469894906540936_9073966318250993080_n

If you have the option to go to Ireland on your Erasmus and you’re a fan of Hobbiton-style scenery, you know what to do.

Aside from the fantastic time I’ve have while in the Netherlands, it’s certainly made me yearn for all those home comforts denied to me here. So when leaving again, I made sure to stock up on all those Northern Irish treasures to see me through for a while.

What is best in life? Potato bread, soda bread and Veda bread. 

1927663_470597546470672_7453135975162740705_n

Not before long I was heading back to Nijmegen with a suitcase full of carbs and a real excitement to get back to the international life. I hadn’t realised how much I missed the folks of Flat 102 and the familiar faces around uni. As July, and the end of my Erasmus approach, I’m extra motivated to see and do as much as possible before I go. Now that the 3rd quarter exams are finished, I’m free to travel around a bit more (LOAN DAY WAS TODAY :D). I’ll be heading to Paris and Prague in the next month, so watch this space!

I will leave you with this glorious beast my grandfather created with an electric hedge trimmer while I was away:

12800186_468828296647597_6474318045579862864_n

Till next time!

Please email me if you have any questions: 2061064t@student.gla.ac.uk

Leave a Reply

