First Christmas away from home

Happy New Year everyone! It’s been quite a rollercoaster of a month. As I mentioned in my last post, I would be travelling around Europe for a while over Christmas and New Year. In the end we settled for Berlin, and stayed there untill Christmas Eve. Though it wasn’t my first time there, I really can’t recommend it enough (particularly if you’re also bit of a history geek). Top tip: Go on the New Berlin city tours, particularly Sam Noble’s Free Berlin Tour and the Alternative Tour (graffitti, local music & art scene, etc). Your mind will be BLOWN.

12400527_448439972019763_4689605516981475869_n

Hanging out with some colourful Berlin street art

I have to admit, it was a strange experience as it’s the first time I’ve not done the same thing I always do over Christmas (Up early, presents, grandad’s place for lunch, Christmas movies, bed) but it was a really rewarding experience. I suppose being away on Christmas for the first time is one of those ‘Oh, I’m an adult now…’moments but spending Christmas Eve in the hostel with 40 strangers having Christmas dinner and chatting together really was a great way to spend the evening.

10314518_448859861977774_244855558544104392_n

One of the things that becomes apparent in most aspects of studying abroad is your own ability to deal with life in a completely different environment where many of your former options for help and guidance aren’t immediate, which may sound daunting, but in my experience I’ve learned to manage my time and life much more quickly and with greater necessity than when I first moved to Glasgow. This experience is what you make of it. Icould spent that 10 euro on a fancy bell for I bike, oooor I could book a return  Flixbus journey Nijmegen and Rotterdam for 2 euro (I’m not joking).

I’m around halfway through this journey now and I can safely say it’s been the best 5 months of my life so far. Though adjusting takes time and you may have a few stumbles in the beginning, learn from this and make it as rewarding as you possibly can. I’ll be here for another 6 months and I can already tell that I’m going to have to be dragged away from this place against my will when the time comes.

However at this moment I’m currently getting stuck into my exams. I’m going to spend all week and next researching and writing a case study on the effect that globalisation has had in terms of British foreign aid to Mozambique. Jealous? Should be. Goedemorgen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

