The Reason I chose UBC.

Ok so UBC is a fantastic all round university like The University of Glasgow.

But I would be lying if that was the reason that I chose to come to study here. Before being a student, I am a rock climber. If you have ever seen pictures of British Columbia you can imagine that this would be the perfect place for me to spend a year!

One of my goals coming across here was to climb the rock faces of the Squamish Chief. pictured below.DSC02599

I expected to build up to this goal over the entire year and finally climbing the Chief in late spring 2016. However, the second week of term at UBC I received a message from a super friendly and motivated climber from Romania who has been living here the past 15 years. He was responding to a post I put on a Facebook group at 8pm that night. His message was simple, lets climb the Squamish Chief tomorrow!

A lot of being on exchange is about just going for things!
giphy

So that’s what I did. I accepted his offer and 6 hours later at roughly 6:30am I was in  Downtown Vancouver waiting to be picked up and head north to achieve something of a life goal for myself.

The result? One of the best experiences of my life.
Beautiful views, fantastic weather, spectacular granite cracks on vertical rock faces. Simply world class!

12025360_10153488280575202_2107947672_n
And there was more to come 300 m more in fact.

DSC02602 DSC02603

And then came a bit of pain squeezing through granite chimney’s. My skin is still scarred.

12039066_10153491123805202_9070879077595166758_o

Really good laugh.

The day was ended with a excellent extra large portion of fish and chips and some beers in a local bar.

The perfect day and the highlight of my trip thus far!
I love British Columbia, they just need to import more IRN-BRU.

Leave a Reply

