Back in Glasgow

So, I’ve been back in Glasgow for almost three weeks now. I’m happy to be back, even though I’ve managed to catch a cold (thank you Scottish weather). Also, I have to admit that I am experiencing some sort of reverse culture shock: the other day I went to Tesco’s and was surprised when the cashier started asking about my day (that does not happen in Paris very often…) !!!

More seriously though, according to our good friend Wikipedia (yay, for once I can quote Wikipedia!): “When an extended period of time is spent abroad we focus on the good from our past, cut out the bad and create an idealized version of the past.” I just might be guilty of having done that. I missed Glasgow and Scotland a lot when I was in Paris, but when I got back here I felt a bit like… now what? Some things are also different compared to how they used to be, and getting used to that isn’t too easy either. But coming back home and getting used to being in Glasgow again is an important part of the study abroad experience. I think it’s only now that I understand how much my experience in Paris changed me and how much I learned during my year in France.

All I can say is to those Glasgow students who are now starting their adventures all around the world: enjoy it, because the experience goes by way too fast, and get ready: the culture shock you won’t be expecting is the one you experience when you come back!

Leave a Reply

