Endings and Beginnings

“Wow, I bet it is going to snow a lot when you go to Canada”

“Yeah, I can’t wait!”

I take it back, I take it all back!!!

It’s April 23rd. We have just had another snowfall. I thought summer was coming, that we were all done with winter, I thought it was all over…but maybe it is just beginning….

Seriously, I think we have had about a week’s worth of combined snow days – which is great – but it also means that all of our assignments get pushed back, and if you’re anything like me there is no way you are going to complete them early when you get given the luxury of time.

IMG_9381

That car isn’t going anywhere

The worst thing about April is not the “spring snow”, but the insane amount of deadlines AND exams – literally at the same time. There is no study break – I finished classes on the Friday, and my first exam was on the following Tuesday. My last essay was due the same date as my second exam, and I was really struggling to find time to revise – THIS is when I would have been thanking myself for completing an essay in advance of the due date. Alas, I have made it to the other side after a long string of late nights and early mornings. And the good news is – SUMMER HAS OFFICIALLY BEGUN (even if the weather disagrees!)

In all honesty, though, I am no longer (as) phased by the prospect of a 3000 word essay, and a 1000 word assignment is a piece of cake. Of course, it will depend on what your degree is, but the emphasis on ongoing assessment (rather than a big end of year exam) has made me more confident in my work. Practice makes perfect, and although I am still a long way off from perfection, my grades have definitely improved and I think I have the continuous assessment style to thank for that (and coffee – lots of coffee).

Aside from uni (or “school” as I have been forced to refer to it as) I have just been enjoying hanging out with my roommates and exchange friends. It is hard to believe that I won’t be seeing the people I have come to know so well over the past year every single day, and there is going to be a brand new set of goodbyes coming up next week. But that is what makes exchange so special: the likelihood that you will be with the exact same group of people, in the exact same place again, is very slim – and it makes you appreciate each moment so much more.

I really don’t have much to report in the way of exciting adventures since most of this month was spent in the library… I finally paid a visit to Peggy’s Cove – a tiny town that is famous for its lighthouse, about 45 mins from Halifax. It was definitely a “must-see” before I left – and we had a random week of sunshine when we went, which was nice…short and sweet I guess…

DSCN2657 DSCN2651

It has honestly got to the point that I feel like I am just living my life here now; everything feels so familiar. But maybe that means it is the best time to leave – you don’t want to get too comfortable after all; that would take away the element of excitement that is key to a wonderful exchange 🙂

I am visiting some family friends in Prince Edward Island this weekend, and then the big end of year trip begins: I will be flying, hiking and road-tripping my way across Canada and some of the States with my friends…so I imagine I will be writing my next blog from somewhere outside of Nova Scotia!

So I guess that is me signing out from Halifax, and I will update you on my adventures next month!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

